Review your data settings

Cookies are set through this site to recognise your repeat visits and preferences, serve more relevant ads, facilitate social sharing, and to analyse traffic. By using the site, you consent to the use of cookies that may process personal data for these purposes in line with our privacy statement and cookie policy.


Four writers from NI in running for literary prize

By Rebecca Black ·

The winner of the prize will be announced on April 11 (stock photo)

Four Ulster writers have been shortlisted for a prestigious literary prize worth £5,000.

The shortlist for the 25th Christopher Ewart-Biggs Literary Prize features books about the Border, Bloody Sunday, how the BBC reflected and influenced the Troubles, the Sunningdale power-sharing agreement, conflict in Kerry, the Ulster Protestant imagination and a collection of poetry.

Among the writers shortlisted for the prize, the winner of which will be announced on April 11, are Belfast men Connal Parr and Frank Ormsby, as well as Peter Leary from Fermanagh and Tony Doherty from Londonderry. The prize was created in memory of the British ambassador to Ireland who was murdered by the IRA in 1976.

In creating the shortlist, the judges explained they had chosen works that embodied the objectives of the prize, which are to promote peace in Ireland, a greater understanding between the peoples of Britain and Ireland, or closer co-operation between the partners of the European Community.

1 / 1
The winner of the prize will be announced on April 11 (stock photo)